Disaster management

Overview


Disaster managementis considered one of the recent and unique specialties that have been developed to keep pace with the rapid changes in the world. As this specialty provides an introduction to all types of risks that occur or expected to occur at all levels, whether in various organizations, sectors, the industrial environment and society in general. This specialty is also concerned with providing the appropriate mechanism and methodology in dealing with disasters and crises, whether they originate due to natural or man-made disasters.

This is achieved by organizing and coordinating resources, human resources and responsibilities which can be summarized as follows:

  • Planning to avoid crises and disasters, and prevent its occurrence as much as possible.
  • Preparing to cope with the crises and reduce the damaging effects resulting, in the least possible time.
  • Restore activities and help in the recovery process.
  • Take advantage from the lessons to prevent crisis and disasters from happening again in the future.

Bachelor's Degree in Disaster Management


Al-Balqa Applied University / Prince Al-Hussein Bin Abdullah II Academy for Civil Protection awards a bachelor's degree in disaster management as the program includes various courses with a total of (132) credit hours that are covered by six knowledge fields, as follows:

  • Management and behavior: organization theory, strategic management, administrative work ethics, organizational behavior, fundamentals of administrative control.
  • Information technology: computer applications in disaster management, information technology in crises, knowledge management in disasters.
  • Quantitative methods and scientific research: operations research, scientific research methods
  • Environment and geography: principles of maps, principles of geographic information systems, remote sensing techniques, environmental risk management, contemporary environmental issues.
  • Crisis management functions: negotiation and conflict management, public relations in crises and disasters, stress management, crisis management in organizations, disaster operations management.
  • Supporting field: principles of statistics, industrial psychology, civil protection sciences.

The specialty also includes field training as students are trained through designing a training program from the department. This training aims to provide students with knowledge and practical skills related to the specialty so that theoretical knowledge is applied to reality and provide student with the ability to make decisions in case of crises and disasters

The graduate will have job opportunities in the governmental and private sectors, the Jordanian Civil Defense, The armed forces, Security agencies, and International and humanitarian organizations.


Study plane

Departments’ Members

Dr. Baker Alshnekat

Dr. Baker Alshnekat

Bakershnekat@pha.edu.jo
CV

Dr. Mayson Abu Murad

Dr. Mayson Abu Murad

maisoonabomurad@pha.edu.jo
CV

Dr. Motasem Abu Shattal

Dr. Motasem Abu Shattal

mabushattal@pha.edu.jo
CV

Marwa AZ-zoubi

Marwa AZ-zoubi

marwah2017@pha.edu.jo
CV

Professor Mwafaq Moh’d Dandan

Professor Mwafaq Moh’d Dandan

Mwafaq70@bau.edu.jo
CV

Dr. ramy Alkloub

Dr. ramy Alkloub

Ramy.AlKaloub@pha.edu.jo

Dr. Raed Hussam Alzoubi

Dr. Raed Hussam Alzoubi

Raed.Alzoubi@pha.edu.jo

Dr.Abdullah fathe alomari

Dr.Abdullah fathe alomari

Abdullah.alomari@pha.edu.jo

Dr. Ethar Alhmesat

Dr. Ethar Alhmesat

Ethar.alhmesat@pha.edu.jo
CV

Dr.Mustafa Akaileh

Dr.Mustafa Akaileh

Mustafa.akaileh@pha.edu.jo
CV

Husam Abuhammour

Husam Abuhammour

Husam.abuhammour@pha.edu.jo
CV

Majed Saleh AL Shawabkeh

Majed Saleh AL Shawabkeh

Majed.alshawabkeh@pha.edu.jo
CV

Raouf Rjoub

Raouf Rjoub

Raouf.rjoub@pha.edu.jo
CV

Mohammed Almnaseer

Mohammed Almnaseer

Mohammed.almnaseer@pha.edu.jo
CV

Shaker Alshraah

Shaker Alshraah

Shaker.alshraah@pha.edu.jo
CV

Dr. Wael Jamal Alkayed

Dr. Wael Jamal Alkayed

Wael.alkayed@pha.edu.jo
CV

Husam Ayasreh

Husam Ayasreh

Husam.ayasreh@pha.edu.jo
CV